K2 About OCO

Omicron Chi Omega - Herstory 

In the beginning...
On August 26, 1984, following the 51st International Convention held in Washington, DC, five Prince William County women met at the home of Alice Taylor with an interest in starting a local chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.  Attending this meeting was Rosyln Dunn, Venus Miller, Jannette Smithson, Alice Taylor and Mary Williams. The five women discussed the potential impact such a chapter would have on the community and the necessary procedures for organizing a new chapter.  They also, discussed strategies for recruiting new members.

As an official interest group of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., the group named themselves The Princesses of Pearls. They followed the guidelines and by-laws set up by the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority’s corporate office.  Alice Taylor was elected President; Venus Miller was elected Secretary and Jannette Smithson was elected Treasurer.  These three women were the new officers of the Princesses of Pearls. 

Chartering of Omicron Chi Omega...

Nearly eight months after forming The Princesses of Pearls, on May 19, 1985, Mrs. Barbara W. Davis, Mid-Atlantic Regional Director, officially made the interest group the Omicron Chi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. 

The following officers were installed: Mrs. Alice Taylor - President, Mrs. Vivian Oliver - Vice-President, Ms. Venus Miller-Secretary, Mrs. Mary Porter - Assistant Secretary, Ms. Glorine Gholson -Correspondence Secretary, Ms. Jannette Smithson-Treasurer, Mrs. Winifred Gilmore-Financial Secretary, Mrs. Mary Williams–Parliamentarian, Ms. Earline Spillers-Doorkeeper, Mrs. Patsy Smith-Hostess, Mrs. Elma Clancy-Ivy Leaf Reporter, and Mrs. Roslyn Dunn-Historian.

Throughout its 30 year history, the chapter has received many local community awards as well as recognition from Alpha Kappa Alpha regionally and on the national level. The chapter has received recognition in the county as well as by the state of Virginia for its involvement in the Back to School/Stay in School Program, its support of SAVAS (Sexual Assault Victim’s Advocacy Services), its support of ACTS (Action in the Community Through Service), and its support of the American Heart Association.